Currin Appointed 1st Vice Chair on Triangle J Board of Delegates

— February 2017

Commissioner Ronnie Currin

Rolesville Commissioner Ronnie Currin

With a new year came new changes for the Triangle J Council of Governments (TJCOG), including changes in delegate representation from several member governments on the organization’s Board of Delegates (BOD). As a result, 2017 began with a vacancy for the BOD’s 1st Vice Chairperson position. During the full BOD meeting at TJCOG offices on Wednesday, January 25, a nominating committee presented its recommendation for filling the vacancy.

The committee recommended moving Rolesville Commissioner Ronnie Currin, current 2nd Vice Chairperson, to the position of 1st Vice Chairperson. The board voted on all the recommendation and approved Currin unanimously.

The TJCOG Board of Delegates is an integral part of the organization’s governance and role as a local government entity in the region. Each of the 37 member governments appoints an elected official from their municipality or county to serve as their delegate on the board. Together, the board sets policy for TJCOG and appoints the Executive Director who manages the affairs of the organization. Each delegate is strongly committed to the values of regional discourse, collaboration, and connectivity that guide TJCOG forward.

Triangle J Council of Governments (TJCOG) is the lead regional planning organization for North Carolina’s Region J, encompassing Chatham, Durham, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange and Wake counties. TJCOG promotes collaboration among local governments, stakeholders and partners, tackling challenges that cross jurisdictional lines.