Wake County 2017-18 Teacher of the Year semi-finalists named

The journey to finding the 2017-18 Wake County Public School System Teacher of the Year is now officially under way. Each spring, the process begins, and Teacher of the Year selection committees have completed the first step by identifying the 27 semi-finalists who will compete for this honor.

Among the semi-finalists are teachers from six of our local schools:

• Heather Collins, Heritage Elementary
• Christa Hayden, Wakefield High
• Angela Joyner, Zebulon Magnet Elementary
• Lauren Miron, Rolesville Middle
• Katherine Russell, Wendell Middle
• Erin Van Sickle, Wake Forest Middle

Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated and elected by their peers at their individual schools. The 27 nominees develop an eportfolio that highlights their work and philosophy around teaching.

Selection committees review the portfolios and narrow the field to a group of semi-finalists, who then submit short videos reflecting how they incorporate the 4Cs (Collaboration, Creativity, Communication and Critical Thinking) into their work. After reviewing these videos and making classroom visits, the committees determine the 13 finalists.

The finalists will appear before an interview committee for the selection of the Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were recognized at the March 7 Board of Education meeting, and the 13 finalists will be announced in early April. The winner will be named at a special celebration on May 8 at the Raleigh Convention Center.